Project One Stage 2 Exercise 1 Making marks in an expressive way

3Hard

Having looked at the criteria, I gave it a little thought before starting. At first it was a little difficult to think of different marks, however different ideas started to happen. In fact, I think I got a little carried away. I do like the freedom of being able to do designs no matter what they are, rather than the constraints of formal drawing where it is too rigid in format 031

1 Fast Marks At first making marks was a little difficult, as I wasn’t sure how to start. However when I started the ideas started to flow. This was easy to do as I like working quickly.  

2 Slow Marks This mark making was difficult as it took a while to slow down and be mindful of what I was trying to achieve.   3Hard

3. Hard Marks These marks were easier to make as using different pressures made the marks sharper and darker. 022

4 Sharp Marks This mark making exercise was uncomfortable to draw as felt extremely rigid. It was easy to do, however. If this was transferred to stitch this would be fairly easy to achieve.

5soft

5 Soft Marks In making these marks I found soft could only be rounded.

6delicate

6 Delicate Marks Again like the soft marks it was felt that they had to be rounded.   029

7 Bumpy Marks This was probably one of the easier marks to make. It was a comfortable and controlled mark making exercise. One to explore further and would lend itself to interesting texture.

. 8smooth

8 Smooth Marks Although rounded marks were made similar to other marks yet quite different. 023

9 Sensuous Marks Making these marks made me feel ‘happy’ and flowed with ease with pleasing results. 

     10sad

10 Sad Marks I was listening to Dire Straits ‘Brothers in Arms’. Made me feel sad, as I struggled to make marks before this. 028

11 Happy Marks This was a pleasure to do, again marks achieved on the paper were influenced by mood. I think if my mood wasn’t happy the results would not have been so effective.          

About huggywitch

I have been doing textiles for a number of years and recently started my degree. I have always had an interest in theatre costume design and this is where my passion lie.
Image | This entry was posted in ASSIGNMENT 1 -Drawing, Mark-making and Stitches. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

