Research point

 

020 018

Unfortunately because it was delicate was difficult to photograph

Research point
The embroidered piece I chose to analyse was difficult to determine when it was made, as its old. I recently acquired this at a car boot. Who made it, again this is hard to determine. I am presuming that it was in Holland, and this is due to the subject matter. There are 2 figures dressed in Dutch dress. I would estimate it was around the turn of the century, as it appears to be a dressing table cover.
The background is like lace with embroidery on top. At first glance it appears handmade, but on closer inspection, appears to be too perfect. This also helps to age the piece. It isn’t used, as is a little too delicate.
I would imagine that it was for someone for upper classes, as working class would be more inclined to spend on other things more important, but that is just an assumption. This would generally be more for a women, possibly someone keen on embroidery.
It like the delicate nature of the piece and how intricate it looks.

 

020

About huggywitch

I have been doing textiles for a number of years and recently started my degree. I have always had an interest in theatre costume design and this is where my passion lie.
This entry was posted in ASSIGNMENT 2 - building a visual vocabulary. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

