Introduction

Furnishings around the house

Looking around the house at different textiles, I was surprised to see the various weaves. This was something that I hadnt really noticed before. One of the cushions had a thicker close ‘knit’ fabric, smooth in texture and has a pattern almost like herringbone.

The curtain material is cotton with a crisscross weave, again this is a tight weave. The fireside rug has a thicker warp. It is coarse and hardwearing. I would it is hemp, however not too sure. The pile is very thick and close.

One of my dresses is silk. I can see no obvious weave. It has a soft surface and strong qualities. One of my skirts showed an obvious weave, as it was raised and slightly open. It was almost like little squares.

All of these showed variations in construction and has made me appreciate how it was made. It also shows the quality of a piece of material.

About huggywitch

I have been doing textiles for a number of years and recently started my degree. I have always had an interest in theatre costume design and this is where my passion lie.
This entry was posted in ASSIGNMENT 4. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

